About UWC Cricket

The club was established in the 1960s, and administers all cricket relating initiatives and activities at the University. The club has 5 men’s teams, one women’s team, 5 coaches, 2 sport psychologists, a medical team, and a team of administrative staff members.

The club was the initial beneficiary of the SS4LS program. The club started off playing in the Western Province 2B League, but has since become one of the most dominant forces in club cricket in the Western Province and South-African Tertiary Sport community.

UWC Cricket club prides itself not just on the sporting development of its players, but also their academic excellence and personal well-being & development. The introduction of the SS4LS programme has seen over 125 cricketers graduating from university by 2017.

“Cricket has been the main sport focus of the programme. All the participants of the programme play their cricket at UWC under the auspices of the Western Province Cricket Association, However, SS4LS promotes a general balance between the athlete’s sport commitments and academic commitments” – Nic Kock, SS4LS Chairman.

The following professional cricket players have played for the UWC Cricket Club (Click a name to view their profile):

Men – Rowan Richards, Lizaad Williams, Jason Smith, Aviwe Mgijima, Hubayr Hamza, Mphilo Njoloza, Francois Plaatjies, Gurshwin Rabie, Lesiba Ngoepe, Bevin Bennet , Ian Harvey , Charl Langeveldt, Roger Telemachus, George Banda, Blessing Mahwire

Women – Shandre Fritz